First CM (Chief Minister) of Punjab


First CM of Punjab

Dr. Gopi Chand Bhargava was the first CM of Punjab. Do you know who was the first lady chief minister of Punjab, first akali CM, first chief minister before independence etc? This page will answer all these questions. If you want to gain more knowledge about this topic, let us go over some in-depth details about it. The details are given in order of historical events like formation of Punjab Legislative Council in 1935, independence of India in 1947, formation of PEPSU state in 1948, merging of PEPSU with Punjab in 1956 and division of Punjab in 1966 to form today’s state of Punjab, Haryana and Himachal Pradesh.

First CM of Punjab (After Independence)

With the independence of India in 1947, there came the partition of Punjab into East Punjab (today’s state of Punjab in India) and West Punjab (Punjab province in Pakistan). Dr. Gopi Chand Bhargava was elected as the leader of assembly of East Punjab and hence became the first CM of Punjab after independence.

Some details about Dr. Gopi Chand Bhargava : He was born in 1889 in Sarsa district of undivided Punjab, which is now in Haryana. He passed MBBS from Medical College, Lahore in 1912 and started medical profession in 1913. He belonged to Indian National Cogress (INC) and became chief minister of the state for three times. He first became chief minister of Punjab on 15 August, 1947 and was in the chair till 13 April, 1949. Then he again became CM of the state for second time from 18 October, 1949 to 20 June 1951. On 21 June, 1964 he became the cm of Punjab for the third time and remained the chief minister till 6 July, 1964. He died on 26 December, 1966.

Chief Minister Photos,Chief Minister Pictures,Chief Minister Images,Chief Minister Wallpapers,Chief Minister Pics,First Chief Minister Of Punjab,Men Chief Minister Punjab,Chief Minister List,Chief Minister Details


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here